League of Arab States

Regional organization created on March 22, 1945 by the seven Arab states enjoying independence at the time (Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Jordan, Yemen). Today with twenty-two members, it represents more than 200 million people living in an area of 14 million km². The last country to join the League was Comoros in September 1993.

As a special case the PLO was admitted as a full member of the League in 1976; since 1989 it has been a member as « the State of Palestine ».
Born out of the Arab States’ aspiration to be united and independent, the League is made up of geographically adjacent countries, where the people speak the same language and share the same culture with a majority of the population sharing the same religion. It is first and foremost a forum for concertation and seeking consensus on major issues its members face.

The League of the Arab States has four main bodies : the Summit of Heads of State, the Council of Ministers, the Standing Committees, and the Secretariat General. Moreover, various bodies were created implementing the Treaties supplementing the 1945 Pact and a variety of specialized agencies work in close cooperation with the League.

The Headquarters of the League moved to Tunis in 1979 with the suspension of Egypt’s participation following the Camp David Agreements and returned to Cairo ten years later. Its current Secretary General is Amr Moussa, former Egyptian Minister of Foreign Affairs. He was appointed in May 2001.

The Arab League is the partner of the European Union within the Euro-Arab Dialogue.


  • Algeria
  • Bahrain
  • Comoros
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Mauritania
  • Morocco
  • Oman
  • Palestine
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Tunisia
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Yemen