MAURITANIA, Electoral system

  • Name of Parliament: National Assembly and Senate
  • Number of seats: 79 and 56
  • Term of legislature: 5 and 6 years
  • Required age for voting: 18
  • Required age for membership: 25 and 35

For election purposes, the country is divided into 53 constituencies, corresponding to the departements. The number of Deputies from each is based on population. All are elected by absolute majority vote in two rounds, with a simple plurality ultimately being required for election. Of the 56 Senators, 53 represent domestic constituencies and three Mauritanian citizens residing abroad. All are indirectly elected, the former group being chosen by simple majority in single-member constituencies by municipal councillors in each departement. One-third of the Senate membership is renewed every two years.

Vacancies which arise between general elections are filled by substitutes chosen at the same time as titular parlementarians.