OAPEC (Organization of Arab Petroleum Exporting Countries)

The Organisation of Arab Petroleum Exporting Countries was founded in Beirut on 1 January 1968 by Kuwait, Libya and Saudi Arabia. The aim of the three founding countries was to protect their interests and to coordinate their oil trade, with the long term objective of fostering economic integration amongst Arab countries.

At present time, the OAPEC includes 10 members: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Kuweit, Libya, Qatar, Syria and United Arab Emirates.

In 1986, Tunisia submitted a request for withdrawal. The Ministerial Council agreed to suspend Tunisia’s rights and obligations in OAPEC.

Bahrain and Egypt are not members of the OPEP.

These countries account for about one fourth of the total world oil production.

The supreme authority of the organisation, the Ministerial Council, is responsible for drawing up its general policy. The Council is assisted by the Executive Bureau. The General Secretariat, chaired by Mr Abd al-Aziz at-Turki (Saudi Arabia) is based in Kuwait

The OAPEC has sponsored the following institutions:

  • Arab Maritime Petroleum Transport Company (AMPTC), 6 May 1972: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.
  • Arab Shipbuilding and Repair Yard Company (ASRY), 8 December 1973: Bahrain, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Qatar, Saudi Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates.
  • Arab Petroleum Investments Corporation (APICORP), November 1975: all OAPEC countries
  • Arab Petroleum Services Company (APSCO), 23 November 1975: all OAPEC countries
  • Arab Petroleum Training Institute (APTI), May 1978

Contact information:

Tel: 00965 – 4844500; Fax: 00965 – 4815747

Address: P.O. Box 20501; SAFAT 13066 Kuwait

E-mail: oapec@qualitynet.net